Helping the brain by treating the heart

Researchers at the Montreal Heart Institute are currently leading the world’s first study that aims to demonstrate the use of an anticoagulant could prevent cognitive decline in young patients with atrial fibrillation, the most common heart rhythm disorder.

Atrial fibrillation

Atrial fibrillation affects approximately 200,000 Canadians.

This cardiovascular disease affects the two upper chambers of the heart called the atria. The atria are the receiving cavities. Thanks to electrical signals, they ensure blood flows efficiently towards the ventricles and the rest of the body.

Atrial fibrillation occurs when these electrical signals are quick, irregular, and disorganized which reduces the heart’s efficiency at pumping blood.

Factors of risk

  • Aging (it affects 5% of people aged 75-80)
  • Diabetes
  • High blood pressure
  • Hyperthyroidism
  • Coronary heart disease or an abnormality of the heart muscle or valve
  • Sleep apnea
  • Obesity
  • Excessive alcohol consumption

 

Symptoms of atrial fibrillation

Patients experience atrial fibrillation in different ways. It can cause chest pains or more often heart palpitations. The symptoms of atrial fibrillation may also include shortness of breath, dizziness, fatigue, anxiety, or an inability to carry out day-to-day activities. In about 30% of cases, atrial fibrillation is asymptomatic.

Effects of atrial fibrillation

When left untreated, atrial fibrillation can cause blood clots in the atria. This increases a person’s risk of strokes and according to researchers at the MHI, may also result in memory loss and dementia.

Thankfully, most patients treated for atrial fibrillation enjoy a high quality of life.

find out more about atrial fibrillation

 

The BRAIN-AF study

BRAIN-AF (Blinded Randomized Trial of Anticoagulation to Prevent Ischemic Stroke and Neurocognitive Impairment in Atrial Fibrillation) is a double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical study currently being carried out in 44 centres in Canada. It aims to better understand the effects of cardiovascular disease on cognitive decline and the ways of preventing this.

Researchers want to prove the efficiency of an anticoagulant called rivaroxaban to treat young patients with atrial fibrillation. By using this drug to treat atrial fibrillation, they hope to develop a new approach to preventing cognitive impairment and dementia.

Criteria to take part in the study

  • Be diagnosed with atrial fibrillation
  • Be between 30 and 62 years of age
  • Not having suffered from high blood pressure, diabetes, stroke, or heart failure

 

The BRAIN-AF study was initiated by Dr. Lena Rivard and her colleagues, Dr. Paul Khairy and Dr. Denis Roy.

Want to take part in the study?

Contact us by emailing brainaf@icm-mhi.org.

Find out more about the study

 

Support research

Do you want to support patients and research at the Montreal Heart Institute?

Donate

 

Thank you to the study’s generous donors

  • Godin Family Foundation
  • SoundBite Medical Solutions
  • Bryan Jones
  • The Jean C. Monty family
  • Saputo inc.
  • Louis A Tanguay

Traiter le cœur et aider le cerveau

Des chercheurs de l’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal mènent actuellement la première étude au monde visant à démontrer qu’un traitement anticoagulant pourrait prévenir le déclin cognitif chez les jeunes patients souffrant de fibrillation auriculaire, un trouble fréquent du rythme cardiaque.

La fibrillation auriculaire

La fibrillation auriculaire touche environ 200 000 personnes au Canada.

Cette maladie cardiovasculaire affecte les deux cavités supérieures du cœur appelées oreillettes. Ces dernières sont les cavités de réception du cœur qui assurent, grâce à des signaux électriques réguliers, la circulation efficace du sang vers les ventricules du cœur puis le reste du corps.

En présence de fibrillation auriculaire, les signaux électriques sont rapides, irréguliers et désorganisés, ce qui réduit l’efficacité du cœur à pomper le sang.

 

Facteurs de risque

  • Le vieillissement (la fibrillation auriculaire touche plus de 5% des personnes âgées de 75-80 ans)
  • Le diabète
  • L’hypertension artérielle
  • L’hyperthyroïdie
  • La maladie coronarienne ou une anomalie du muscle ou des valves cardiaques
  • L’apnée du sommeil
  • L’obésité
  • L’excès d’alcool

 

Symptômes de la fibrillation auriculaire

La fibrillation auriculaire est vécue de manière différente par chaque patient. Elle peut provoquer des douleurs à la poitrine ou plus souvent des palpitations ressenties comme des battements rapides ou irréguliers du cœur. L’essoufflement, les étourdissements, la fatigue, l’anxiété ou l’incapacité à accomplir les activités de la vie quotidienne peuvent également être des symptômes de fibrillation auriculaire. Dans environ 30% des cas, la fibrillation auriculaire ne s’accompagne pas de symptômes.

Effets de la fibrillation auriculaire

Sans traitement, la fibrillation auriculaire peut entraîner la formation de caillots sanguins dans les oreillettes. Ces derniers causent des accidents vasculaires cérébraux (AVC) et, selon les chercheurs de l’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal, pourraient être responsables de troubles de la mémoire et de la démence. Heureusement, la majorité des patients traités pour la fibrillation auriculaire jouissent d’une bonne qualité de vie.

apprenez-en plus sur la fibrillation auriculaire

 

L’étude BRAIN-AF

Menée dans 44 centres à travers le Canada, dont une vingtaine au Québec, BRAIN-AF (Blinded Randomized Trial of Anticoagulation to Prevent Ischemic Stroke and Neurocognitive Impairment in Atrial Fibrillation) est une étude clinique à double insu contrôlée par placebo. Elle cherche à mieux comprendre les effets des maladies cardiovasculaires sur le déclin cognitif du cerveau et les façons de le prévenir.

Pour ce faire, les chercheurs souhaitent prouver l’efficacité d’un anticoagulant appelé rivaroxaban pour traiter les jeunes patients atteints de fibrillation auriculaire. En traitant la fibrillation auriculaire avec ce médicament, ils espèrent développer une nouvelle approche pour prévenir les troubles cognitifs et la démence.

 

Critères de participation à l’étude

  • Avoir un diagnostic de fibrillation auriculaire
  • Avoir entre 30 et 62 ans
  • Absence d’hypertension artérielle, de diabète, d’AVC ou d’insuffisance cardiaque

 

Vous désirez participer à l’étude?

Communiquez avec nous en écrivant à brainaf@icm-mhi.org.

apprenez-en plus sur l'étude

 

L’étude BRAIN-AF a été lancée par la Dre Lena Rivard et ses collègues, le Dr Paul Khairy et le Dr Denis Roy.

 

Soutenir la recherche

Vous êtes sensible aux besoins des patients et souhaitez soutenir la recherche à l’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal?

faites un don

 

Merci aux généreux donateurs de l’étude

  • Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada
  • Canadian Stroke Prevention Intervention Network
  • Bayer Global
  • Fondation Familiale Godin
  • Saputo inc.
  • iA Groupe financier
  • Fondation du Grand Montréal, Fonds Fondation Paul-A. Fournier
  • SoundBite Medical Solutions
  • Fondation Libermont
  • M. Bryan Jones
  • La Famille Jean C. Monty
  • M. Louis A Tanguay
  • M. Serge Archambault
  • Fondation de l’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal

Manuvie triple votre don*!

Donnez pour la recherche. Chaque don sera TRIPLÉ par Manuvie*.

je donne

 

*Jusqu’au 31 décembre 2021, jusqu’à concurrence de 100 000$