COLCOT-T2D

The Montreal Heart Institute’s Research Centre has earned a global reputation for excellence and is the first of its kind to be exclusively dedicated to cardiovascular diseases. Since 1954, the Montreal Heart Institute has aimed for the highest standards of excellence in research, treatment, teaching, and prevention.

Supported by its Foundation, the Research Centre invests in potentially ground-breaking studies to develop personalized medicine tailored to the patient. The end goal is to better treat cardiovascular diseases, the world’s leading cause of death.

Excellence in research

Research is the key to improving the lives of patients suffering from heart disease. The Montreal Heart Institute’s Research Centre is one of the world’s largest institutions carrying out both basic and clinical research.

The institution’s presence is felt in more than 35 countries and its outstanding reputation is due to the 564 employees and 92 researchers who work tirelessly to publish 360 scientific articles every year and ensure the success of its 10 research and endowed chairs.

COLCOT-T2D: preventing cardiovascular diseases in type 2 diabetes patients

In November 2019, Dr. Jean-Claude Tardif, Director of the Research Centre, presented the results of his large-scale international COLCOT (Colchicine Cardiovascular Outcomes Trial) study. The results of this clinical study represent a major discovery in the field of cardiology. Indeed, the COLCOT study revealed that colchicine, on top of standard care, reduces the risk of a recurrent cardiovascular event in patients who have already suffered from a heart attack.

To pursue the study, Dr. Tardif launched COLCOT-T2D, the second phase of the study. The objective: demonstrate that colchicine can also prevent cardiovascular events in diabetic patients.

A large-scale clinical study started in Montreal

The COLCOT-T2D study is currently recruiting 10,000 Canadian type 2 diabetes patients who have never had any documented cardiovascular diseases. These patients will randomly receive a low dose of colchicine or the placebo. They will be monitored for four years to assess the risks of heart attacks and stroke as well as the appearance of cancer, cognitive impairment, or dementia.

 

Diabetics more susceptible to cardiovascular events

More than 463 million people in the world suffer from diabetes, and 90% are type 2 patients. This type of diabetes occurs when the body fails to produce enough insulin or when cells do not respond correctly to insulin.

The good news is that in most cases, type 2 diabetes can be avoided through healthy lifestyle habits including a balanced diet, regular exercise, smoking cessation, and a low consumption of alcohol. The diagnosis is also reversible.

If diabetes is not controlled, it may lead to severe consequences. It can:

  • increase blood pressure
  • narrow arteries
  • increase the risk of heart disease
  • increase the risk of strokes

 

Diabetics are three times more likely to die from heart disease than non-diabetics. Research into the link between cardiology and diabetes is the key to preventing cardiovascular diseases in this population.

 

Project lead

Dr. Jean-Claude Tardif
Director of the Montreal Heart Institute’s Research Centre

On the same subject:

 

Manulife triples your donation*!

Give for research. Every donation will be TRIPLED by Manulife*.

donate

 

*Until December 31, 2021 and up to a maximum of $100,000.

Manulife, Manulife & Stylized M Design, and Stylized M Design are trademarks of The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company and are used by it, and by its affiliates under license. © 2021 The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company. All rights reserved.

COLCOT-T2D

L’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal est doté d’un Centre de recherche reconnu internationalement, le premier consacré exclusivement aux maladies cardiovasculaires. Depuis 1954, il vise les plus hauts standards d’excellence en recherche, en soins, en enseignement et en prévention.

Appuyé par sa Fondation, l’établissement investit notamment dans les études les plus porteuses pour développer une médecine personnalisée orientée vers le patient. Le tout afin de mieux traiter les maladies cardiovasculaires, première cause de décès au monde.

L’excellence en recherche

Pour améliorer la condition de vie des patients qui vivent avec une maladie du cœur, la recherche joue un rôle de premier plan. Le Centre de recherche s’illustre comme étant l’une des plus grandes institutions à combiner recherche fondamentale et clinique sous un même toit.

L’organisation, qui rayonne dans plus de 35 pays à travers le monde, doit sa réputation à ses 564 employés et 92 chercheurs qui permettent la parution annuelle de 360 publications scientifiques et le succès de ses dix chaires de recherche ou chaires dotées.

COLCOT-T2D : prévenir les malaises cardiaques chez les diabétiques de type 2

En novembre 2019, le Dr Jean-Claude Tardif, directeur du Centre de recherche, a présenté les résultats de sa vaste étude internationale nommée COLCOT (Colchicine Cardiovascular Outcomes Trial). Les résultats de cette étude clinique faisaient état d’une découverte mondiale dans le domaine de la cardiologie. En effet, l’étude COLCOT a démontré que la colchicine, en complément aux traitements standards, réduit le risque de récidive d’incident cardiovasculaire chez les patients ayant déjà subi une crise cardiaque.

Pour pousser l’étude encore plus loin, le Dr Tardif a lancé COLCOT-T2D, le deuxième volet de cette étude. L’objectif : démontrer que la colchicine peut également prévenir les malaises cardiaques chez les diabétiques.

Une étude clinique de grande envergure initiée à Montréal

L’étude COLCOT-T2D recrute présentement 10 000 patients canadiens atteints de diabète de type 2 n’ayant jamais eu de maladies cardiovasculaires documentées. Ces patients recevront aléatoirement la colchicine à faible dose ou le placébo. Ils seront suivis pendant quatre ans pour évaluer les risques de crises cardiaques et d’AVC ainsi que l’apparition de cancers, de troubles cognitifs et de démence.

 

Les diabétiques plus enclins à avoir des malaises cardiaques

Le diabète est un problème de santé qui touche plus de 463 millions de personnes à l’échelle planétaire, dont 90 % sont des diabétiques de type 2. Cette forme de diabète est caractérisée par une production insuffisante d’insuline ou l’incapacité des cellules du corps d’utiliser adéquatement cette hormone.

La bonne nouvelle avec le diabète de type 2 est que dans la majorité des cas, il peut être évité grâce à l’adoption de saines habitudes de vie dont une alimentation équilibrée, de l’exercice physique régulier, l’abandon du tabagisme et une faible consommation d’alcool. Le diagnostic est aussi réversible.

Si le diabète n’est pas contrôlé, il entraîne des conséquences graves. Il peut augmenter :

  • l’hypertension artérielle
  • le rétrécissement des artères
  • les maladies coronariennes
  • les accidents vasculaires cérébraux (AVC)

 

Les diabétiques sont trois fois plus à risque de mourir d’une maladie du cœur que les non-diabétiques. La recherche en lien avec la cardiologie et le diabète est donc primordiale pour prévenir le développement de maladies cardiovasculaires chez cette population.

 

Responsable du projet

Dr Jean-Claude Tardif
Directeur, Centre de recherche de l’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal

Sur le même sujet :

 

Manuvie triple votre don*!

Donnez pour la recherche. Chaque don sera TRIPLÉ par Manuvie*.

je donne

 

*Jusqu’au 31 décembre 2021, jusqu’à concurrence de 100 000$